Kenya officially the Republic of Kenya is a country in East Africa. Lying along the Indian Ocean to its southeast and at the equator it is bordered by Somalia to the northeast Ethiopia to the north South Sudan to the northwest Uganda to the west and Tanzania to the south. Lake Victoria is situated to the southwest and is shared with Uganda and Tanzania. With its capital city in Nairobi Kenya has numerous wildlife reserves containing thousands of animal species.