The Isle of Man otherwise known simply as Mann is a self-governing British Crown Dependency located in the Irish Sea between the islands of Great Britain and Ireland within the British Isles. The head of state is Queen Elizabeth II who holds the title of Lord of Mann. The Lord of Mann is represented by a Lieutenant Governor. The island is not part of the United Kingdom but its foreign relations and defence are the responsibility of the UK Government.