Norway officially the Kingdom of Norway is a Nordic unitary constitutional monarchy occupying the western portion of the Scandinavian Peninsula as well as Jan Mayen the Arctic archipelago of Svalbard and Bouvet Island (is not subject to the Antarctic Treaty). Norway has a total area of 385 252 square kilometres (148 747 sq mi) and a population of about 4.9 million. It is the second least densely populated country in Europe.